Pro Accounts and gift codes
Certain features of the Platform are only available to registered users who subscribe for a “Pro” or “Pro Unlimited” account (together, “Pro Accounts”). Below, you’ll find a few additional terms that apply to those Pro Accounts and Pro Account holders, and to gift codes for Pro Accounts, including, amongst other things, terms relating to payment, the conclusion and renewal of your contract, your right of withdrawal during the first 14 days of your subscription, and certain technical usage limitations.
Pro account features and prices
A detailed description of our Pro accounts, including the prices and the features associated with each type of account, is available on our Pro Accounts page. Information about gift codes can be found on our Gift Codes page.
All prices include VAT or other sales tax where applicable.
Selecting and purchasing pro accounts and gift codes
Simply select the Pro Account or the gift code you want to purchase from the Pro Accounts page or Gift Codes page, enter your payment details, and then click the ”Purchase” button.
Selecting a plan and submitting your payment information is an offer to conclude a contract. The contract itself is not concluded until you receive confirmation from us or until we activate your Pro Account, as described below.
Conclusion of contract and start of subscription
Once your payment has been received, your Pro Account will be activated, and we will send confirmation by email to the address associated with your account.
For gift codes, confirmation will be sent by email, together with an activation link which you can send on to the person for whom you bought the Pro Account subscription. They will need to click on this link to activate their Pro Account.
In either case, the contract for your Pro Account or gift code is concluded when you receive our confirmation email (or when we activate your account, if this happens first), not when you make your payment.
Fees for Pro Accounts and gift codes are payable in advance and will be taken at the time the contract is concluded as described above. Payment can be made by Visa, Mastercard or PayPal and/or any other payment method that is presented to you during the purchase process.
Term and renewal
If you choose a monthly payment option, your Pro Account subscription will run from month to month, and will renew automatically at the end of each monthly period. Payment for the next monthly period will be taken at that time, unless you cancel your Pro Account, which you can do at any time from your Subscriptions page on the Website.
If you purchase an annual Pro Subscription, your initial Pro Subscription will be for a 12-month period, and your Subscription will thereafter renew automatically for additional, successive 12-month periods. SoundCloud will automatically charge your payment account the associated Subscription fee on the date of commencement of each applicable 12-month renewal period, unless you cancel your Subscription before the applicable day of renewal. You can cancel your Subscription at any time from the “SoundCloud Pro” tab on your Subscriptions page on the Website. The date of renewal of your Subscription is also displayed on your Subscriptions page, so you can keep track of your Subscription.
AUTOMATIC RENEWAL: AS STATED ABOVE, IF YOU DO NOT CANCEL YOUR SUBSCRIPTION PRIOR TO THE COMMENCMENT OF AN APPLICABLE 30-DAY OR 12-MONTH RENEWAL PERIOD, AS APPPLICABLE, WE WILL AUTOMATICALLY CHARGE YOUR PAYMENT ACCOUNT AT THE BEGINNING OF EACH SUCCESSIVE 30-DAY OR 12-MONTH PERIOD, AS APPLICABLE.
The expiry date of your Pro Account is also displayed on your Settings page, so you can keep track of your subscription.
Upgrading your pro account
If you wish to upgrade from “Pro” to “Pro Unlimited”, you may do so at any time within your Subscriptions page on the Website. Your “Pro Unlimited” subscription will start after your payment has been processed and your new plan will be activated immediately, irrespective of any remaining time on your old “Pro” plan. We cannot offer you any refund for your old “Pro” plan, but if you upgrade your yearly plan, we may offer you a discount depending on the remaining time on your previous plan.
Redeeming gift Codes
If you have been given a Pro Account as a gift, you can activate your Pro Account by clicking on the activation link – this would have been sent to the person who bought you the gift, so if they haven’t sent you the link, please get in touch with them and find out what’s up.
Gift codes must be redeemed (i.e. accounts must be activated) within three years of the date of purchase. SoundCloud is unable to offer any kind of refund or exchange for any gift code that is not redeemed within this period.
30 Days Money-back Guarantee
We offer all customers who purchase a Pro Account for the first time the right to cancel their purchase within the first thirty (30) days, starting from the day on which the contract is concluded. In order to cancel your subscription, simply click on the “Edit" button in the “Pro Plan” section of your Subscriptions page on the Website.
Right of withdrawal
In addition to our 30 days money-back guarantee offer, under European law you also have a legal right to withdraw from your purchase of a Pro Account or a gift code within fourteen (14) days of your purchase, as set out below:
Model instructions on withdrawal
You have the right to withdraw from this contract within 14 days without giving any reason.
The withdrawal period will expire after 14 days from the day of the conclusion of the contract.
To exercise the right of withdrawal, you must inform us
- SoundCloud Global Limited & Co. KG, Rheinsberger Str. 76/77, 10115 Berlin, Germany
- Fax: +49 30 577 098 860, firstname.lastname@example.org
of your decision to withdraw from this contract by an unequivocal statement (e.g. a letter sent by post, fax or e-mail). You may use the attached model withdrawal form, but it is not obligatory. To meet the withdrawal deadline, it is sufficient for you to send your communication concerning your exercise of the right of withdrawal before the withdrawal period has expired.
Effects of withdrawal
If you withdraw from this contract, we shall reimburse to you all payments received from you, including the costs of delivery (with the exception of the supplementary costs resulting from your choice of a type of delivery other than the least expensive type of standard delivery offered by us), without undue delay and in any event not later than 14 days from the day on which we are informed about your decision to withdraw from this contract. We will carry out such reimbursement using the same means of payment as you used for the initial transaction, unless you have expressly agreed otherwise; in any event, you will not incur any fees as a result of such reimbursement. If you requested to begin the performance of services during the withdrawal period, you shall pay us an amount which is in proportion to what has been provided until you have communicated us your withdrawal from this contract, in comparison with the full coverage of the contract.
Following receipt of your notice of withdrawal, SoundCloud will downgrade your Pro Account to a free account and any Content in your account that exceeds the then current upload limits for a free account will be hidden. Only the sounds and sets uploaded or created most recently will be shown in your profile, up to the free account upload limit. You will still be able to access hidden sounds or sets if you want to delete them.
If you wish to delete your account altogether, you can do this from your Settings page on the Website.
Please note that “Pro” and “Pro Unlimited” accounts are both subject to monthly upload limits and a maximum individual file size. This is necessary to ensure the stability of the Platform. Individual uploads must not exceed 4 GB and the upload time per month must not exceed 20 hours in total.
This will not affect the ability of “Pro Unlimited” users to upload an unlimited number of sounds, provided that individual files are within the file limits, and provided that the monthly upload limits are not exceeded.
Changes to pricing and features
We may occasionally need to change the features of our Pro Accounts and/or change the prices charged for these accounts. In the event of any increase in the price or material reduction in the features of any Pro Account to which you subscribe, we will communicate these change(s) to you at least six (6) weeks in advance and the changes will only take effect with respect to any subsequent renewal of your subscription.
Last Amended: December 30, 2020
Links to prior versions
You will find a link to prior versions of our Pro Account and Gift Codes Terms below.