Track artwork

Joe Acheson (Hidden Orchestra) - Archipelago Mixtape

Tru Thoughts on February 26, 2013 11:41

0.00 / 1.19.05
Hide the comments

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 22 41681
Comments 164
Favoritings 1542
Downloads 2 5257

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 227 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by Tru Thoughts

    UNFOLD Radio w/ DJ Robert Luis || 13.07.14 + (Hidden Orchestra Guest Mix // Titeknots Guest Mix)

    Sittin' By The Window

    Sittin' By The Window (Seyr Remix)

    Sittin' By The Window (Version Feat Klashnekoff)

    Sittin' By The Window (The Last Skeptik Remix)

    View all

    This latest mix from Joe Acheson (aka Hidden Orchestra) is to celebrate the release of the second Hidden album, 'Archipelago', which came out on Tru Thoughts Records in October 2012, and the second single to be lifted from the album, 'Fourth Wall / The Revival', which came out on February 25th 2013.

    Like previous mixes it features all the variety of music that Joe has been listening to in the last year or so, much of which he has added to, mashed up or remixed, with lots of spoken word and field recordings. One of the themes is sleep, or the lack of it - and there's a strong theme of imagined live collaborations - Kelpe with Thom Yorke, Floex with Maxi Jazz, Crunch with Kate Bush, Tinariwen and Guru with a heavy rhythm section, Ivor Cutler and Johnny Cash trading verses over Jan Johansson's piano with added beats, Hauschka feat Bob Marley, Steve Reich with vocals from John Lennon and Finsta Bundy, and so on… full tracklist and times below.

    'Archipelago' is available at all good record stores including
    iTunes / Amazon / Direct from us

    'Fourth Wall / The Revival' is also available at all good record stores including
    iTunes / Amazon / Direct from us

    The band tour the following places in February, March & April 2013
    28/02 Glasgow, Oran Mor
    01/03 Edinburgh, Queens Hall
    08/03 Manchester, Band on the Wall
    09/03 Bristol, Thekla
    10/03 Brighton, Blind Tiger Club
    16/03 Aberdeen, The Tunnels
    18/04 Oxford, The Cellar
    19/04 Nottingham, Contemporary Arts Centre
    20/04 London, Koko

    00:00 Spoken - Hidden Orchestra
    00:01 The Great Animal Orchestra (Audiobook read by Nigel Lindsay) - Bernie Krause
    00:22 Reminder (drums only version) - Hidden Orchestra
    04:08 Unconscious Motivation (film excerpt) - Prelinger Archives
    05:06 Reminder - Hidden Orchestra
    05:25 Paivi's Favourite Sound - (Interview with Joe)
    06:19 Fourth Wall - Hidden Orchestra
    06:55 Fourth Wall (drums only version) - Hidden Orchestra
    07:04 Forgetmenot - Floex
    07:13 Kimmo's Favourite Sound - (Interview with Joe)
    12:25 Insomnia (film excerpt) - Prelinger Film Archives
    12:52 Music For 18 Musicians (Section VI) (Joe Acheson Many Musicians Remix) - Steve Reich
    13:25 A Day in the Life (acapella) - The Beatles
    17:25 Feel the High pt. 2 (acapella) - Finsta Bundy
    19:54 Shipwreck Glue - Kelpe
    19:58 Staring Out of the Window (Short Story) - Alan Bennett
    20:06 Black Swan - Thom Yorke
    24:36 Stop Parching Yourself - Kelpe
    24:56 The Blankout Agreement - Kelpe
    25:10 Up Up and Away (spoken introduction) - Sammy Davis Jr.
    25:15 Nightbreed (acapella) - Klashnekoff feat. Jehst
    27:52 Storrington Birds Spooked (field recording) - Joe Acheson
    27:53 The Great Animal Orchestra (Audiobook read by Nigel Lindsay) - Bernie Krause
    27:55 Sounds of Harris: Lullaby of a Lapwing - Kuljit Bhamra, Jacqueline Shave & John Parricelli
    29:07 Tarbert Nightwalk (field recordings from Isle of Harris) - Joe Acheson
    30:06 Sounds of Harris: Song of the Shiants - Kuljit Bhamra, Jacqueline Shave & John Parricelli
    31:12 Ursa Major - Floex
    31:24 Patrick Moore in interview - (prod. Journeyman Pictures)
    31:51 Insomnia (acapella) - Maxi Jazz
    35:13 Topkapi Park (Istanbul field recording) - Joe Acheson
    35:15 Dave Brubeck in interview - BBC Radio 4
    35:24 Ping (Joe Acheson refix) - Haushka
    38:51 Tenere Taqqim Tossam (Joe Acheson refix) - Tinariwen
    40:12 Conflict (acapella) - Guru
    41:48 Keep - Nils Frahm
    41:55 The Great Animal Orchestra (Audiobook read by Nigel Lindsay) - Bernie Krause
    43:40 Crunky - Crunch
    45:24 Half Broken Harp - Kelpe
    45:31 I've Gotta Be Me (Spoken Introduction) - Sammy Davis Jr.
    47:51 Visa Fran Utanmyra (Joe Acheson remix) - Jan Johansson
    47:53 I Like Sitting - Ivor Cutler
    48:38 Hurt (acapella) - Johnny Cash
    49:52 Darkness - Ivor Cutler
    52:32 If Everybody - Ivor Cutler
    53:03 After The Goldrush - King's Singers
    53:50 Atoms for Peace - Thom Yorke
    54:33 Rooster Was a Witness - Neil Cowley Trio
    54:54 Atoms for Peace (Four Tet Remix) - Thom Yorke
    56:47 Disquiet (drums only version) - Hidden Orchestra
    61:25 Disquiet - Hidden Orchestra
    61:26 Unconscious Motivation (film excerpts) - Prelinger Archives
    66:29 Dave Brubeck in interview - BBC Radio 4
    66:38 Radar - Hauschka
    67:10 Is This Love (acapella) - Bob Marley
    70:07 Edit 2 - Crunch
    70:17 And Dream of Sheep (acapella) - Kate Bush
    72:00 The Great Animal Orchestra (Audiobook read by Nigel Lindsay) - Bernie Krause
    72:18 Whistman's Wood (Joe Acheson remix) - John Surman


    162 timed comments and 2 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at