Track artwork

thatmanmonkz - That Would Be Alright (1/4 - 128k Preview)

Tone Control Music on October 13, 2012 10:04

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 2449
Comments 13
Favoritings 90

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    Released by

    In 10 Sets

    View all

    In 41 Groups

    View all

    More tracks by Tone Control Music

    Opolopo - Feel It - PROMO CLIP

    Opolopo - Be Enough feat. Shea Soul (Dub Remix) - PROMO CLIP

    Opolopo - Be Enough feat. Shea Soul (Radio Edit) - PROMO

    Tomson & Fyza - Elevate (Tomson Dub) (Preview Clip)

    Tomson & Fyza - Elevate (Instrumental) (Preview Clip)

    View all

    Here we reveal the first track from thatmanmonkz' debut EP, due in the shops from mid November.

    In this first track, deep chords ride swinging bass from Sheffield to Detroit and back on "that would be alright".

    Check out these great early reactions:

    “Dreamin is the WON!!!”
    DJ Spinna, Wonderwax (US)

    “Great and mental. What a record!!! :-) ”
    Atjazz (UK)

    “It’s an excellent EP. All tracks rock. In fact it was hard to find a favourite. Looking forward to dropping this baby!” 5/5
    Ashley Beadle (UK)

    “This is TOO special… Not for WEAK ears!!! LOVE THE WHOLE EP” 5/5
    Vinny Da Vinci, House Afrika, Metro FM (ZA)

    “nice all-rounder here…like the whole package!” 5/5
    Rainer Truby, Root Down (DE)

    “soundin’ sick doood, smack chords, handclaps, and mpc runnin’s… thats what i expect and want from thatmanmonkz!”
    Toddla T, Radio One (UK)

    “Excellent EP. Alaf & Dreamin my faves.”
    Craig Smith, 6th Borough Project (UK)

    “You guys made me pick one BUT they are all super cool!!
    N’Dinga Gaba (US)

    “Phenomenal debut release taking you on an eclectic journey to soulful underground dance music you wish would never end…”
    Mike Fossati, Spirit of House (CH)

    “AMAZING project – ALL just killer vibes – Thanks!” 5/5
    Brothers Vibe (US)

    Get a free track by thatmanmonnkz:
    Come to our free party and see Pete Simpson sing some of these tracks live!

    Tone Control Music proudly introduces our new signing 'thatmanmonkz'. This debut EP, the man explores Detroit inspired deep house with jazz, disco and soul influences apparent throughout. Several tracks feature vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, Pete Simpson (Sunburst Band) while title track, The Man takes a heavier sampler/drum machine based route for darker tastes. Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys/M.I.A.) helps out on mix duties to complete this Steel City showcase.

    Who is thatmanmonkz? Scott 'thatmanmonkz' Moncrieff is a much-hyped DJ who has shared the decks with heavyweights Carl Craig, Grandmaster Flash, Phil Asher, Recloose and Roots Manuva among others. Sharing a flat with Arctic Monkeys and M.I.A producer Ross Orton led to a crash course in production techniques and analogue synths, which inspired him to join forces with Toddla T (Radio 1) to form Small Arms Fiya.

    Small Arms Fiya created numerous releases and remixes over their 3 year collaboration which included Jersey Street, Nubian Minds, Roots Manuva, Domu, Mark Rae, The Elektrons and Lo Tek Hi Fi. Their debut EP with Pete Simpson, and follow up with Ayah Marar was received with impressive acclaim from Benji B, Ross Allen and more. Small Arms Fiya re-launched in 2011 after a hiatus which 'monkz used to experiment with new musical directions. Since then he has been busy producing, arranging, remixing and DJing - headlining Sheffield's infamous Kabal Warehouse Party, Cargo, and playing alongside Fatlip from The Pharcyde, Hackman, and Martelo.

    With this debut solo release, 'The Man' EP forthcoming on Tone Control Music, imminent 12's from his 'S & M' project with Daniel Swain, and various remix/production duties, expect big things from thatmanmonkz!

    All tracks written by Scott Moncrieff, except "alaf" and "dreamin", written by Scott Moncrieff and Pete Simpson. All tracks produced and arranged by Scott Moncrieff at the fiya station except "the man" arranged by Scott Moncrieff and Daniel Swain. 
    All instruments by Scott Moncrieff, except keys on "alaf" and live bass on "dreamin" by Pete Simpson. Vocals on "that would be alright", "alaf" and "dreamin" by Pete Simpson. Mixed by Scott Moncreiff and Ross Orton aka R.O the rugged bloke. Mastered by Martin Iveson. Artwork design by Haydn Davies.

    More info:

    Released by: Tone Control Music
    Release/catalogue number: TNCL013
    Release date: Nov 12, 2012
    ISRC: GB-MSZ-12-00013


    11 timed comments and 2 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at