Track artwork

Girls Names - The New Life (David Holmes Remix)

Slumberland Records on October 30, 2013 17:52

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 2 6386
Comments 8
Favoritings 212

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 38 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by Slumberland Records

    The Aislers Set - The Red Door

    The Aislers Set - One Half Laughing

    The Aislers Set - Long Division

    The Aislers Set - California

    The Aislers Set - The Way To Market Station

    View all

    Taken from the 12"/digital EP "The Next LIfe"
    Out now on Slumberland Records/Tough Love Records.

    limited edition white vinyl 12":
    expanded digital edition from iTunes:

    Belfast four-piece Girls Names released their critically acclaimed second album, "The New Life," in February and it marked a new direction for the band altogether. That directional shift is emphasized even further by a new limited edition 12" EP, entitled The Next Life.

    With the artwork making a playful nod to Bowie's latest record, it's not surprising that the EP should see the band experiment with the sonic make up of their last album. Leading is "Visions," a spooked tune from the album sessions, seeing wide release here for the first time. Also of note is a cover version of Brian Eno's 'Third Uncle.' Recorded in August of this year, it is the first recorded Girls Names track to feature new drummer Gib Cassidy and offers a telling glimpse at what creative steps the band may next take.

    Following are a series incredible remixes of tracks taken from the sister record. The first is by producer/composer/dance don legend David Holmes, who lends a somewhat European elan to the titular track. The second sees Gabe Gurnsey from Factory Floor add his band's characteristic dance floor focus to Girls Names' motorik groove, turning in something that jitters and pulses in a manner befitting of any track attributed the Factory Floor moniker. JD Twitch from the Optimo DJ/production team turns in a suitably grooving take on "The New Life," while Locust/Seefeel/Black Hearted Brother member Mark Van Hoen strips down and tracks out "Drawing Lines." The EP wraps up with a spectral take on "Occultation" by bedroom psych/ambient genius The Soft Walls.

    All in all, it's an enlightening series of interpretations that sheds new light on Girls Names source material and points way to new avenues of exploration.

    Released by: Slumberland Records
    Release/catalogue number: SLR 198
    Release date: Oct 29, 2013


    8 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at