Track artwork

03 Marshall Jefferson vs Noosa Heads - Mushrooms ( Trevino Rmx)

Shifting Peaks on January 02, 2013 21:58

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 5 823
Comments 1
Favoritings 29

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 5 Sets

    More tracks by Shifting Peaks

    Nphonix - Muscovite Beat

    Nphonix - Drifting In Barnard

    Nphonix - Seethefuture

    Working Girl - Sailing West [clip]

    Working Girl - Naomi [clip]

    View all

    Nasty Rips and Shifting Peaks Vol. 2 : Release date : 14.02.13 ( Shifting Peaks )

    Having stumbled out from the shadows in mid 2010, London/North Devon label Shifting Peaks went on to inch it’s way slowly onto the UK Bass landscape with releases from Hackman, Graphics,Tessela, Emvee, Sekta, Lakosa, Mak + Pasteman, and sterling remix contributions from the likes of Brackles, Lando Kal, Youandewan, WCNL, Mau'lin, Walton, Trevino and Frits Wentink.

    Following on from 2011’s Volume 1, label compilation Nasty Rips and Shifting Peaks Vol. 2 is another pulsing collection of house, garage and bass from some of the more promising up and coming producers in the UK, and occasionally beyond. As with Vol 1, this lot are mainly young, from 17 upwards, more of them late teens, and all of them threatening to leave deep impressions on the electronic landscape in 2013.

    Apart from relative veterans’ Mak and Pastemans’ immaculate ‘Lost’/’Do the Same’ ( including Youandewan’s sumptuously strung out version), which has already seen a vinyl/digital release, the rest of the album is unreleased , or in Lakosa (‘Nubian Minds’ – incl WNCL/Mau’lin mixes) ) and Marshall Jefferson ( ‘Mushroom’s Trevino / Fritz Wentink mixes ) has only had a ltd 12” outing so far.

    Proceedings start with a bang as East London/Hampshire bods Rory Bowyer and Nima Bazrcar aka Designated contribute 3.13 minutes of lazer bolt bass flashes, trappy riffs and grimey attitude in the shape of the explosive ‘Russian Roulette.’ Neither lad has has hit 18 yet.

    Berlin DJ Gabriel Baumstark flies the flag as the only non UK producer on the comp, and makes his mark as Cut Off! Cut Off! Cut Off! via ‘Second to None’, a rattling, oscillating, hypnagogic stepper with pitched about vocals, filtering arpeggios and artfully stuttering rhythms.

    Harry Barkshire, aka DVLPR, straight outta Penge, S London, pops up 3 times, with the brooding 2 step rhythms and familiar vocal snatches of’ Keep On’, the percussive, meditative ‘First Rain’, and the bass heavy , 4/4 rework of ‘Keep On’ by Hyperdubs’ Walton.

    Out in the increasingly fertile bass homelands of Bristol, young trio ‘Sly One’ warm up for an early 2013 release on Addison Groove's Lost in Translation imprint , with a silky, warm slice of modern garage, ‘Come to Mine’.

    On ‘Put You Down’ Pasteman momentarily leaves Mak at home in Notts as he hooks up again with 19 year old Winchester native Tanka for a jacking bassline-houser under their Odessa moniker.

    London bod Mau’lin starts 2013 as he means to go on with a tough, tracky, techno inflected house outing ‘Kansas ’98’ that manages to stand out from the crowd with it ‘s sonic layering and tribally undercarriage.

    King Of Arabs closes out proceedings with a bit of a curveball, the languorous, slo mo, shoe-gazer ‘Years Without Art’ , peppered with disembodied vocal snatches, enveloping effects and fragmented melodies.

    Tracklisting :
    01. Designated - Russian Roulette
    02 - Mak & Pasteman - Do The Same
    03 - Marshall Jefferson vs Noosa Heads - Mushrooms (Trevino Remix)
    04 - Lakosa - Nubian Minds (WNCL Remix)
    05 - CutOff! CutOff! - Second To None
    06 - Odessa - Put You Down
    07 - Lakosa - Nubian Minds (Original)
    08 - Mak & Pasteman - Lost (Youandewan Dub)
    09 - Sly-One - Come To Mine
    10 - DVLPR - Keep On
    11 - Mak & Pasteman - Lost
    12 - Maulin - Kansas '98
    13 - Marshall Jefferson vs Noosa Heads - Mushrooms (Frits Wentink Remix)
    14 - DVLPR - Keep On (Walton Remix) MAST
    15 - Lakosa - Nubian Minds (Mau'lin Remix)
    16 - DVLPR - First Rain
    17 - King Of Arabs - The Years Without Art

    5 track album sampler :

    1 Comment

    1 timed comment and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at