Track artwork

Yukoma (Opiate Rmx)

saroos on February 27, 2013 19:58

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 8 1480
Comments 1
Favoritings 19

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 3 Sets

    More tracks by saroos

    Sequoia - Odd Nosdam RMX


    Saroos: Tsalal Nights

    East feat Fenster

    Henderson Island (Schlachthof Bronx Mix)

    View all

    Saroos: Morning Way EP
    Alien Transistor - N34

    The artwork displays a detail shot of swampland: think of it`s vegetation as an exotic contradiction – at once rooted, but in constant motion from the flow of water it is immersed in. What water does to the Hylophytes, the bassline does to the title track of this EP: it circles without wavering; leisurely, yet rumbling.
    Saroos are knee-deep in Dub. The bass is a massive grounding force, underlying a dialogue between exotic pop instrumentation (such as Caribbean lap-steel guitars and flutes) and vocal samples. 'Morning Way' shows an eclectic and open side of Saroos never explored before - more than just a good omen for their forthcoming album, as this track is its first single.
    With the second song the sky brightens: the minimalistic but playful loops and the slightly dizzying beat of 'Henderson Island' (produced by Schlachthofbronx) leave enough space for a sparkling accordion line. The third brand new track is a collaboration with Berlin/NYC based band Fenster. 'East' is a percussive ballad with traces of recent UK Bass music colliding with erratic and surprising guitar work.
    Another collaboration with Life & Limb, which was previously only available in the blogosphere, finally made it onto Vinyl. The EP is completed by two remixes: Dax Pierson (of Subtle) adds a BeatScience/Dub-patina to 'Fog People', while Opiate shows his mastery in abstraction, in cutting and arranging things to make them completely new.
    For Saroos, this record is a prospect of things to come, as well as an assessment of where they are now and where they have been. N34
    Format: EP

    1. Morning Way
    2. Henderson Island (Schlachthofbronx mix)
    3. Fog People (Dax Pierson Rmx)
    4. Mirrored Selves (LIFE & LIMB w/ SAROOS)
    5. East (feat. FENSTER)
    6. Yukoma (OPIATE Rmx)

    Release Dates:
    Mar 22, 2013 (Worldwide)
    Released by: Alien Transistor
    Release/catalogue number: N34
    Release date: Mar 22, 2013

    1 Comment

    1 timed comment and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at