It may seem shallow to compare Ron Pope to the likes of Bruce Springsteen, Paul Simon or Jackson Browne, with their decades’ worth of platinum albums, but it feels honest to describe his potential that way.

As a quiet teenager, Ron was listening to The Band, Stevie Wonder and endless hours of Bob Dylan, artists who would influence his writing depth, vocal style and marriage of pop melodies with bluesy guitar riffs and folksy grit. Ron outgrew his quiet personality about the time he left his childhood home in suburban Atlanta to pursue his first love, baseball, at Rutgers University. He played for two seasons, but the road to collegiate athletics is paved with sprains and fractures. After a career-ending injury, he transferred to NYU and chased a new dream in New York — inspiring people through his music with soulful songs about love, loss and redemption, as well as heartfelt tunes about growing up and finding your way back home.

Ron was rapidly become the vibrant front man of The District, a band he started with classmates Zach Berkman, Paul Hammer, Chris Kienel, Will Frish and Mike Clifford, who he met in a songwriting circle. This wasn’t just any college band — not the kind you’d find in a garage, vibrating the shingles off your neighbor’s roof. The District became a New York household name in its own right, selling out popular venues, as well as playing a vital role in defining Ron’s style as lyricist.

Ron’s solo career evolved out of his individual sense of exploration. He was compelled to try new sounds, use various instruments and write more songs to produce something original yet lasting, something resonant for his listeners. He hit one out of the park in 2008 when he was asked to perform on MTV’s TRL in a review of unsigned, up-and-coming artists. His 2006 song, “A Drop in the Ocean” was already an online darling. When the song was featured on hit shows such as The Vampire Diaries, 90210 and So You Think You Can Dance earlier this year, Ron’s fans took to Facebook and Twitter to spread the word, and it showed when the song became a top 100 download on iTunes. “A Drop in the Ocean” received so much positive feedback that Javier Colon, season 1 winner of NBC’s The Voice, recorded it as the first single off his premier album, Come Through for You.

With more fan-made videos on YouTube than most Top 20 radio hits, you’re just as likely to pull up a video of a fan’s version of one of Ron’s songs than his original — one user’s video of “A Drop in the Ocean” has more than 20 million views. And Ron loves it; he’s just as likely tweet the link to a fan’s video as he is one of his new singles.

Ron is much more than the labels and stereotypes he’s acquired during his budding career: Recording artist. Musician. Rock star. Guitar player. Songwriter. Vocalist. Performer. Ron is a musical Renaissance Man, writing, composing, recording, producing, managing, and igniting his own career. He’s stood at a crossroads where so many musicians find themselves — at the intersection of record label and independence. In an ever-evolving industry filled with rejection and compromise, Ron has plotted a new course for his music to reach loyal listeners, taking the industry-road-less-traveled in exchange for the ultimate payback, a league of devoted fans the world over.

Four independent albums and 145 singles on iTunes later, Ron is still showing us — all of us — another layer to his talent. With his latest album, Calling Off The Dogs (released worldwide January 6, 2014), he is exploring new territory and pushing boundaries even further. The first single, Lick My Wounds (released worldwide on August 6th), is the first taste of this new exploration. As one critic so kindly stated: "'Lick My Wounds' is catchier than a mousetrap and a billion times more pleasant to get all wrapped up in."

When you’re pleasantly surprised to find yourself humming one of his tunes on the subway, you can’t stop yourself from sharing his music with a friend, a coworker or even a stranger. That’s the story to be told about Ron Pope — music that moves its listeners, stories that touch their lives, songs that see them through.

RonPopeMusic   Ron Pope, Brooklyn, United States

  • Calling Off The Dogs 11 tracks, 46.45 RonPopeMusic on December 03, 2013 21:22

    1. 1. Lick My Wounds 3.16 9933 plays
    2. 2. Empty Page 3.22 6495 plays
    3. 3. Explain 3.30 6507 plays
    4. 4. Silver Spoon 5.04 6196 plays
    5. 5. Signs 4.55 6855 plays
    6. 6. Push Me Away 4.08 7472 plays
    7. 7. Nothing (feat. Alexz Johnson) 4.04 11077 plays
    8. 8. Off Your Feet 5.16 6312 plays
    9. 9. Back To Bed 4.43 18348 plays
    10. 10. New Friends 4.09 4442 plays
    11. 11. Blood From A Stone 4.13 7271 plays
  • Atlanta: The Deluxe Edition (new tracks) 3 tracks, 13.30 RonPopeMusic on January 30, 2013 10:17

    1. 1. One Grain of Sand (Kyle McCammon Remix) 3.35 12414 plays
    2. 2. One Grain of Sand (Ben Romans Remix) 5.14 15342 plays
    3. 3. Atlanta (Live at Flux Studios) 4.40 13779 plays
  • Monster 3 tracks, 11.54 RonPopeMusic on December 04, 2012 15:28

    1. 1. Monster 3.51 17135 plays
    2. 2. Writing Letters 4.19 37325 plays
    3. 3. Brooklyn 3.43 16307 plays
  • Atlanta 12 tracks, 47.33 RonPopeMusic on April 16, 2012 11:44

    1. 1. Atlanta 5.05 72556 plays
    2. 2. One Grain of Sand 3.27 400717 plays
    3. 3. Tears of Blood 3.28 24377 plays
    4. 4. I Do Not Love You 3.49 67167 plays
    5. 5. City in Motion 4.18 20887 plays
    6. 6. Bitterness or Sympathy 4.06 25628 plays
    7. 7. Waking Up 1.07 17245 plays
    8. 8. Meaning/Meaningless 4.28 18431 plays
    9. 9. A Wedding in Connecticut 5.16 21219 plays
    10. 10. Sweet Redemption 4.31 23753 plays
    11. 11. In My Bones 3.28 72613 plays
    12. 12. October Trees 4.24 73744 plays

Share to WordPress.com

If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
    Click to enter a
    comment at