Track artwork

Forward Strategy Group - Labour Division EP1

Perc on May 09, 2012 12:19

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 2 2182
Comments 41
Favoritings 103

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 2 Sets

    More tracks by Perc

    A1. Radiate The Ocean From My Back

    A2. Unvanquishable Number

    B1. Something For Those Who Wait

    B2. Lose The Ability To Withstand Existence

    A2. Perc & Truss - Judd

    View all

    Out now. Vinyl & digital release, with the Nik Colk Void remix being digital only.

    Support from Ben Klock, Pacou, Truss, James Holden, Shifted, Tommy Four Seven, Cassegrain, Blawan, Adam X. Josh Wink, Xhin, Go Hiyama, Edit Select, Phase, DVS1, Terence Fixmer, Marcel Dettmann, Ivan Smagghe, Moerbeck, Agoria and more.

    Perc Trax proudly presents the first EP to be taken from the forthcoming Forward Strategy Group album ‘Labour Division. This first vinyl 12” takes three of the best tracks from Patrick and Al’s debut album and adds 2 remixes from white-hot synth/industrial fusioneers Factory Floor.

    Opening up the EP is the album’s title track, a classic Forward Strategy Group lesson in restraint as the track’s central percussion hits get continually worked over six and a half minutes, forming a hypnotic groove that has been a key part of Perc’s DJ sets this year. Next up is ‘Mandate’, where a semi-broken rhythm hint at classic electro as vocal syllables and stabs echo across the stereo field.

    On the b-side ‘A Greyed Out Life’ showcases one of Labour Division’s more atmospheric moments as pulsing synths build over classic soundtrack pads. Gracefully fading in and out the track makes its mark on you without outstaying its welcome.

    Finally we have the two of three forthcoming remixes by Factory Floor of album cut ‘Nihil Novi’. Since surfacing a few years ago the London trio have lived up to the hype thanks to their blistering improvised live performances, releases on DFA, Optimo and Blast First Petite and their associations with such legends as New Order’s Stephen Morris and the ex-Throbbing Gristle pair of Chris Carter and Cosey Fanni Tutti.

    First up is Gabriel Gurnsey’s synth lead interpretation, firing out similar drum hits as Factory Floors recent ‘Two Different Ways’ single and topping it off with a twisting monosynth line. Nik Colk Void provides the 2nd Factory Floor remix, following in the path of her recent ‘Gold E’ single on the O Genesis label with an abstract take on Nihil Novi, rippling with guitar noise and distorted bass blasts.

    Released by: Perc Trax
    Release/catalogue number: TPT052
    Release date: May 18, 2012


    39 timed comments and 2 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at