Track artwork

Paul van Dyk feat. Sue McLaren & Arty - The Sun After Heartbreak (Nick Callaghan & Will Atkinson Remix) Preview

paulvandykofficial on March 08, 2013 15:17

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 436 30586
Comments 42
Favoritings 513

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 167 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by paulvandykofficial

    Paul van Dyk x TOMS Galaxy Mix

    Paul van Dyk's End Of Summer Essential Mix (2009)

    Paul van Dyk - The Politics Of Dancing 1 - CD 2 (2001)

    Paul van Dyk - The Politics Of Dancing 1 - CD 1 (2001)

    Paul van Dyk Live @ EMPO Awards (Mexico) 2014

    View all

    (R)EVOLUTION: THE REMIXES encompasses fresh-off-the-desk reworkings from a full company of van Dyk’s fellow production studionauts. Also included is the radio edit of “Such A Feeling” ft. Austin Leeds and vocalist Elijah King, a remake of the instrumental “Verano” that has never been available in North America before. Leading the charge is the production brotherhood of Woody van Eyden and Alex M.O.R.P.H., who are respectively tasked with retakes of “Sun After Heartbreak” and “Such A Feeling.” Drawing on a wealth of harmonics, thermal synths and Sue McLaren's and Elijah King's vocal talents, they reposition PvD’s original versions in an entirely new light.

    Musical mutineers Kyau & Albert, Maarten De Jong and John O’Callaghan zoom in on some more big room aspects. Their radical interpretations of “Open My Eyes,” “Symmetries” and “I Don’t Deserve You” respectively highlight drums, percussion and distortion that are altogether more atomic in nature.

    Emphasizing both the popularity and musical latitude of the latter track, “I Don’t Deserve You” featuring vocalist Plumb gets two further reconfigurations. Having already been voted one of the 15 biggest trance songs of the year on Armin van Buuren’s ASOT radio show, “Deserve” gets some house flavor into its system. Dubbing up the vocal, Gabriel Ben lets the hats hiss, the percs ride and the rhythms flow on his mix. Meanwhile, fellow American producer WAWA rolls in one big piano moment after another, inciting voracious uplift and fanning (R)EVOLUTION’s flames even further.

    “Naturally, the original versions of EVOLUTION’s tracks were my and my co-producers’ visions. To date, the singles have brought some wonderful, creative remixes with them--ones that blew me away when I heard them,” states Paul van Dyk. “I played the tracks in clubs and on the radio throughout 2012. They were the seeds for this album and now is the right time to push the boundaries of EVOLUTION a bit further.”

    Taking things momentarily deeper and more subversively progressive, the Directors Cut mix seizes on “Love Ammunition”’s lyrical metaphor. Underpinned by a potent groove and sure-shot drop, Michelle Leonard’s vocals scorch the room. The album stays with her tones as Giuseppe Ottaviani takes control of “Lost In Berlin,” building it up into a mainline titan.

    With PvD’s full backing, other remix-revolutionaries are given free reign to take the music where they see fit. Pedro del Mar & Double V rock up a storm on the Sue McLaren-vocalled/Arty-co-produced “The Sun After The Heartbreak.” Elsewhere, young-blood Uzbek producer Exense masterminds the “Rock This” rebuild. Tactically he whips it into a powder-keg progressive piece, holding back the pitch-bent synths and rousing shout to the break’s final precipice. Elsewhere, audio guerrillas like Niels von Ahorn, Robert Mint, Nick Callaghan & Will Atkinson and others perform coup after coup with eclectic, thrilling reworkings that build into the consummate EVOLUTION revision.

    Released by: VANDIT
    Release/catalogue number: VAN2061
    Release date: Feb 22, 2013


    42 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at