is the joint forces of Vegard “Lil’“ Wolf Dyvik & Christian Steenstrup. Well known on the Norwegian house/techno/disco scene, Of Norway is now building their name internationally, with releases and remixes on esteemed labels such as Connaisseur, Darkroom Dubs, My Favorite Robot and Soma, to mention a few.

Regularly featured on play lists and charts of, and gaining praise from, a wide variety of DJs, including Nick Warren, X-Press 2, Ewan Pearson, John Digweed, Hernan Cattaneo,
Silicone Soul, Lee Burridge, Jimpster, Joris Voorn, Sasha, Joel Mull, Maceo Plex, Soul Clap, Kiki, AME, Hot Chip, Maetrik, Jori Hulkkonen, M.A.N.D.Y., Catz n'Dogz, Einzelkind, Tiefschwarz, President Bongo (GusGus), Ralf Kollmann, Dirt Crew (...)

"Like being lost in the woods of Norway" the boys describe their alternative house and dubby dance sound. It ranges from warm to sometimes chilling, from the soothing, drone
like landscape of their track Song For Ava, which reached #1on the Beatport Chillout chart and #1 on the German Chillout chart, to the driving dance floor mayhem found in their
remixes (for acts like Kollektive Turmstrasse, Robert Babicz, Timo Maas etc) and their own originals alike.

Of Norway’s live set has taken them to play legendary clubs land festivals like Fabric,Fusion Festival, Tresor, to Razzmatazz, Propaganda Club, Berns and many more.

Their live sets are, like their productions, a little quirky and melodic, but with a clear house and disco influence.

"ACCRETION" (Studio album) coming on Connaisseur Rec. May 30th 2014:

Ever since we first got together in Oslo to produce music under the Of Norway moniker in 2006, we had dreams of producing a cohesive body of work rather than just single tracks and EP’s.

Following a few 12” singles on Connaisseur Recordings in 2011 and 2012, we got to talking to the label about producing a full length album. Two years later we are very proud to present the completed “Accretion“.

We chose the album title “Accretion“ (def: "Growth or increase in size by gradual external addition,fusion, or inclusion.") as we felt it applied to the entire process of recording and writing music. We start out with one sound or melody and build upon that by adding more and more layers. And it’s something that quite often is refected in the structure of our tracks. Furthermore the title applies to how the album came about, in the sense that we started off with the title track, which defined
our sound and we kept building around that until we had a solid body of work.

“Accretion“ was not an easy album to make, as it is our first album and uncharted territory for us. We both had the idea that the album should not just be a collection of random tracks, but rather more a little documentation of our lives, and something personal. This made it doubly difficult, since it also exposed us as people and not just anonymous producers.We wanted to play as many of the instruments as we could ourselves, not relying too much on loops, samples and programming
machines alone. We opted for more dynamic instruments and outboard gear, in conjunction with some loops/samples and sequencers.

Not that we shed away from groove based sequencing totally -
we used the Native Instruments Maschine to great extent, for instance - but we wanted to try to get more expressive and personal, and thought we could achieve this by mixing it up a little. Chief among the instruments we've played on the album is the Fender Jazz Bass, various guitars, percussion instruments (anything from wood blocks to the Korg Wavedrum), and some synths like Moog Slim Phatty, Waldorf Blofeld, Korg DSS1 and so forth. Not to forget the help we've gotten from our vocalists, who've put their unique signatures on some of the tracks! This was all quite time consuming and challenging, but also very rewarding. The album showcases
productions from the very organic and almost entirely acoustic works to long, trance-inducing pieces that take your mind for a ride if you let it.The end result being a mix of moods and
personalities and a glimpse into our lives at a period of time, which is a scary concept to present to the world, but sometimes you just have to jump out in the deep end and hope you stay afloat.

We are both very proud of our debut album and hope you enjoy our “Accretion“ as much as we do.

Much love,
Vegard Wolf Dyvik & Carl Christian Steenstrup

Of Norway   Of Norway, Oslo, Norway

  • Remixes & Cover Versions 5 tracks, 23.07 Of Norway on March 28, 2014 11:40

    1. 1. Timo Maas feat. James Lavelle - The Hunted (Of Norway Remix) by TIMO MAAS 8.54 6560 plays
    2. 2. Robert Babicz - Rosegarden (Of Norway Version) - PREVIEW by Of Norway 2.01 3773 plays
    3. 3. Patrick Chardonnet - All I Got (Of Norway Live Version) TEASER by Of Norway 2.09 2100 plays 123.0 BPM
    4. 4. Of Norway - A Forest (cover-version) by Of Norway 7.31 20678 plays
    5. 5. Nolan ft. Idris Elba - Children Of House (Of Norway Version) (Preview) by Idris Elba 2.30 9058 plays
  • Of Norway - DJ mixes & live sets 7 tracks, 5.37.25 Of Norway on April 07, 2014 10:54

    1. 1. Of Norway - mini mix December 5th 2013 by Of Norway 46.27 3350 plays
    2. 2. Of Norway - Recorded Live 10/08/2013 by fabric 19.59 6654 plays
    3. 3. Billetto Mix // Of Norway (DJ Set) by Billetto UK 58.43 435 plays
    4. 4. Live DJ mix 2014-01-25 by Of Norway 1.02.53 984 plays
    5. 5. Of Norway vinyl live dj mix (except for the first track as it's a bootleg ;) by Of Norway 1.01.03 806 plays
    6. 6. November 13 DJ mix by Of Norway 59.05 627 plays
    7. 7. Of Norway minimix for Free Ends Radioshow by Of Norway 29.11 1048 plays
  • Of Norway - A Forest (cover-version) Artwork

    Of Norway - A Forest (cover-version)

    Of Norway on November 13, 2013 23:01
  • Of Norway "For Ava" (C) Connaisseur Recordings

    Of Norway on November 28, 2011 13:22

Share to WordPress.com

If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
    Click to enter a
    comment at