Mute was founded by Daniel Miller in 1978, and since then has signed and developed some of the world’s most influential recording artists – including Goldfrapp, Liars, Moby, M83, Erasure, Depeche Mode, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Laibach, Yeasayer and Richard Hawley – and become home to a crop of emerging talent and recent signings such as Cold Specks, Polly Scattergood, Big Deal, Beth Jeans Houghton, Josh T. Pearson and Apparat.

Whilst maintaining a firmly eclectic roster, from the earliest days of The Normal, Fad Gadget and DAF through to the techno era with artists such as Plastikman / Richie Hawtin and Speedy J, and to the present day with electronic artists such as Diamond Version and Maps, the label has always been a champion of electronic music.

Mute is also home to the catalogue of a host of seminal artists such as Can and Cabaret Voltaire.

Mute Records   Mute, London, Britain (UK)

  • Cabaret Voltaire - Crackdown (Radio Edit 83) Artwork

    Cabaret Voltaire - Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)

    Mute Records on May 01, 2014 15:51
  • Sleepwalking Artwork


    Mute Records on April 21, 2014 15:31
  • Kino Artwork


    Mute Records on April 21, 2014 15:31
  • Swans - A Little God In My Hands Artwork

    Swans - A Little God In My Hands

    Mute Records on March 24, 2014 12:37
  • Mick Harvey - Dr Jekyll Artwork

    Mick Harvey - Dr Jekyll

    Mute Records on March 19, 2014 10:34
  • Laibach - The Whistleblowers Artwork

    Laibach - The Whistleblowers

    Mute Records on February 24, 2014 12:31

Share to WordPress.com

If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
    Click to enter a
    comment at