Track artwork

Juno Plus Podcast 79: Ulf Eriksson (Kontra-Musik)

Juno Plus on January 27, 2014 11:46

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 9 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by Juno Plus

    Juno Plus Podcast 92: F#X

    Juno Plus Staff Mix Vol. 2 - Tony Poland

    Not Waving - Barbarian

    Juno Plus Podcast 91: Hashman Deejay

    Titled 1

    View all
    Tags: techno

    As head of Kontra-Musik, Eriksson has proudly cultivated a label that now typifies the high quality of techno currently seeping out of Sweden, working with a small collection of local and international artists. Jason Fine, Jonsson & Alter, Mass Prod, Frak, Rivet and Andreas Tilliander under his many guises are among those that have contributed to the consistently adventurous Kontra-Musik discography, and whilst the label has largely been defined by quality over quantity recent times have seen a slight upturn in their output.

    In 2012, the Kontra-Musik White Label series was established initially as a non-Börft outlet for Frak material and has since been complemented by releases from Fishermen and the crazy Technology Fail As A Birth Control For Unnecessary Recordings from Mass Prod & Herva. Last year also saw Kontra-Musik team up with fellow Swedish techno behemoths Skudge Records for the collaborative SKUM endeavour, whilst issuing album projects from label mainstays Jonsson & Alter and Andreas Tilliander, with the latter's TM404 perhaps the most imaginative usage of Roland drum machinery in some time.

    There's a curatorial skill intrinsic to the successful running of a label that makes individuals such as Ulf Eriksson ideal candidates for interesting mixes. That's certainly the case here with the Swede offering up a 43 minute selection of his 2013 favourites that includes Silent Servant, Laurel Halo, Donato Dozzy, Tropic of Cancer and Morphosis. The mix comes in the week after Eriksson made his Berghain bow as part of Berlin's CTM festival and how that went forms part our questions put to the Swede. You can read that here:

    1. Max Loderbauer – Slowrag [Non Standard Productions]
    2. Gunnar Haslam - Cat Superhighway (version) [LIES]
    3. TM404 – 303/303/303/606/707 [Kontra-Musik/Skum]
    4. Silent Servant - Lust Abandon [Jealous God]
    5. Mountain Range - From You Have I Been Absent In The Spring [Aniara]
    6. Tropic of Cancer – Court of Devotion [Blackest Ever Black]
    7. Laurel Halo - Melt [Hyperdub]
    8. Donato Dozzy - Vaporware 07 [Spectrum Spools]
    9. Madteo - Science Friction [Acido]
    10. Morphosis - Arrival [Honest Jons]


    9 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at