There Is No Safe Side But The Side But The Side Of Truth

Fat Cat Records on February 25, 2011 14:20

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 873
Comments 4
Favoritings 7
Downloads 6 171

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 1 Set

    • Music

      59 Tracks, 5.03.32

    More tracks by Fat Cat Records

    Lawrence English Mix - FatCat Podcast #106

    Vashti Bunyan - Across The Water

    We Were Promised Jetpacks - Safety in Numbers

    The Growlers - Big Toe

    Andy Crowder Mixtape - FatCat Records Podcast #105

    View all

    FatCat's 130701 imprint is a home for the orchestrally-aligned composers connected with the label:

    - Dustin O'Halloran (tracks 1 and 2) released his brand new full-length 'Lumiere' on February 28th. Having composed music for Sofia Coppola's 'Marie Antoinette' film (2006), William Olsen's 'An American Affair' (2010) and Drake Doremus' Sundance-winning 'Like Crazy' (2011), Dustin's music is as cinematic as it is wistful. He combines subtle electronics with heartbreaking string arrangements to brace his solo piano pieces, and the results are breathtaking.

    - Hauschka, aka Dusseldorf-based composer / pianist Volker Bertelmann, is generally known for his prepared piano explorations in sound. A playfully inventive take on such a traditional instrumentation that yields a percussive, ingenious compositional style, often supported by string arrangements (or, as heard on 2010's stunning 'Foreign Landscapes' LP, a 12-piece ensemble). His new 'Salon des Amateurs' album sees his take on techno / house music, written again for solo prepared piano, with brass, violin and drumkit embellishment. See tracks 3 and 4.

    - Johann Johannsson will shortly release his beautiful score to Bill Morrison's ('Decasia', etc.) great new found-footage documentary on the UK's ill-fated mining communities. Written for 16-piece brass ensemble, the piece was performed and recorded in its entirety at Durham Cathedral - a centre-point for the film and for the historic colliery galas themselves. Tracks 5-6 from this sampler compilation are found on 'The Miners' Hymns' album.

    - Max Richter's last album for FatCat - 2010's 'infra' album - was a score to the Wayne McGregor / Julian Opie / Royal Opera House collaboration, the beautiful new ballet of the same name. Full of Richter's characteristically haunting and melancholy piano / string / electronic suites, the album is just one of Max's major career highlights, alongside (like Dustin O'Halloran) a Sundance-winning film score, winning tons of awards for his 'Waltz With Bashir' score in 2008 and soundtracking countless high-profile feature films and performance pieces.


    4 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at