Track artwork

Ólafur Arnalds - Everything Must Change

Erased Tapes Records on February 18, 2012 13:42

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 657 37279
Comments 1 18
Favoritings 5 588
Downloads 14 1710

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 179 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by Erased Tapes Records

    Kiasmos - Burnt

    Rival Consoles - 3 Chords

    A Winged Victory For The Sullen – Atomos VI

    Greg Gives Peter Space – The Drive

    Greg Gives Peter Space – A Clear View

    View all

    '"Everything Must Change" creates a menacing atmosphere from violin plucks, synth stabs, and a heavy hip-hop drum break. You don't need the story or the visual to feel the tension in it' – Pitchfork

    'In a perfect world, Erased Tapes would be the new Sub Pop, a pioneer becoming a prescriber, unavoidable and historic. 'Everything Must Change' is a prefiguration of a perfect world, where modern classic from Erased Tapes would be the norm. A really seducing fantasy…' – La Blogotheque

    ORDER it on CD/Vinyl/Digital now from:


    Icelandic composer Ólafur Arnalds set to release his first Hollywood film score.

    Ólafur Arnalds’ original motion picture soundtrack for Sam Levinson’s feature film debut ‘Another Happy Day’, starring Ellen Barkin and Demi Moore, will see a worldwide release via UK modern classical label Erased Tapes Records on February 27, 2012.


    ‘In mid-December 2010 I was on a holiday in China when I received an email from Sam Levinson about the film. We got on the phone at like 4 in the morning Beijing time and ended up talking all through the night, instantly connecting. He told me that they had been listening to my music while making the film, so the film was already very influenced by my music. However, it was not until Ellen Barkin – the beautiful force that she is – had pestered the producers for a week, calling them every day about how I am the right one for this film, that they finally gave in. The only catch was that it had to be done two weeks later, in the first week of January. So I ended up scoring nonstop all throughout Christmas, making my mother mad in the process.’ - Ólafur Arnalds


    Born in the suburban Icelandic town of Mosfellsbær, a few kilometres outside of Reykjavík, the 24-year old composer has always enjoyed pushing boundaries with both his studio work and his live-shows. Through relentless touring and determination this young artist has steadily gained recognition worldwide and continues his mission to lure an indie-generation of pop and rock fans into an emotive world of beguiling electronic chamber music and delicate classical arrangements.

    'The indie kid who knows the score’ – Guardian’s Observer

    'An artist who can exert power with the lightest of touches’ – BBC Music


    1. The Land Of Nod 2. Through The Screen 3. Before The Calm 4. Lynn's Theme 5. Alice Enters 6. The Wait 7. A Family Stroll 8. Poland 9. Out To Sea 10. Autumn Day 11. Everything Must Change



    Released by: Erased Tapes Records Ltd.
    Release/catalogue number: ERATP038
    Release date: Feb 27, 2012
    ISRC: GB-WZD-11-03811


    17 timed comments and 1 regular comment

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at