Track artwork

09 Birthday Man

EMEFE on August 16, 2012 17:23

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 19 847
Comments 1
Favoritings 10

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 5 Sets

    More tracks by EMEFE

    Miles Arntzen - "New Slaves [with Drums]"

    04 Good Future

    05 BBB (featuring Gabriel Garzon-Montano)

    06 Title of the Work Interlude

    07 Don Porfirio

    View all

    Recorded at Mason Jar Music in Brooklyn, Good Future features nine original and hard-hitting tracks, with guest vocal appearances by Chico Mann and Gabriel Garzon-Montano. Good Future is a powerful statement by a powerful band—it is a refreshing and energetic mixture of afrobeat, funk, soul and rock, all fused together to form the irresistible EMEFE sound. The music sounds like a band that is excited and ready to make listeners forget their worries and dance. After listening to all 9 tracks, through every horn solo, every group chant and every drum breakdown, you can't deny that EMEFE exists to bring a Good Future to everybody within earshot.

    Download of the full album comes with the digital version of the CD booklet!
    released 06 July 2012
    Produced by Miles Arntzen and Dan Knobler

    Miles Arntzen: drums, percussion
    Jas Walton: tenor saxophone
    Christian Anderson: baritone saxophone
    Ray Mason: trombone
    Michael Fatum: trumpet
    Jake Pinto: Hammond organ, Farfisa, Wurlitzer
    Deen Anbar: guitar
    Davy Levitan: guitar
    Doug Berns: bass
    Javier Ramos: congas, percussion

    Lead trumpet on tracks 1 and 2, additional tpt on tracks 4, 9: Billy Aukstik
    Vocals on track 3: Chico Mann, Gabriel Garzón-Montano, Luna
    Garzón-Montano, EMEFE
    Vocals on track 4: Phoebe Ryan, Jon Seale, EMEFE
    Vocals on track 5: Gabriel Garzón-Montano, Le'Asha Julius, Luna
    Garzon-Montano, George Ross, EMEFE
    Jawbone/ancient Pakistani bell on track 5: Dan Knobler
    Pure Evil on track 5: CZ1000
    Additional keys (Casiotone, Hammond organ), sogo drum, shekere,
    guitars on track 6 part 1: Miles Arntzen
    Vocals on track 8: Gabriel Garzón-Montano, Le'Asha Julius, Luna Garzón-Montano, George Ross, EMEFE

    Tracks 2, 5, 7, 9 written by Miles Arntzen (smilesahead music, ASCAP)
    Tracks 1, 4, 6 written by Miles Arntzen & Jas Walton (Boogie Mo Music, ASCAP)
    Track 3 written by Miles Arntzen, Jas Walton & Marcos Garcia (Emma Lulu Music, BMI)
    Track 8 written by Gabriel Garzón-Montano, Miles Arntzen & Jas Walton
    Track 4 contains words from an Ewe traditional song entitled "Ewo na do do"

    All songs performed by EMEFE
    Produced by Miles Arntzen & Dan Knobler
    Recorded and mixed by Dan Knobler at Mason Jar Music in Brooklyn, NY (
    Assistant engineer: Phoebe Holiday Ryan
    Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtletone Studios, NYC
    Original album artwork: Nick Kokkinis
    All songs copyright 2012

    Release date: Jul 6, 2012

    1 Comment

    1 timed comment and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at