Track artwork

foi oi oi & What the Bleep - Feelings for Detroit Vol. 6: Water Sound

DJ What the Bleep on May 25, 2012 06:10


Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 1702
Comments 71
Favoritings 62
Downloads 101
Report copyright infringement

In 5 Sets

More tracks by DJ What the Bleep

The Return of What the Bleep

Teaser for solo return at DubtronicA

**This mix won 3rd place in the "Top Mix of 2012" contest:

New download link: foi oi oi & What the Bleep - Feelings for Detroit Vol. 6: Water Sound by foibleep
Tracked version for burning to CD:

foi oi oi & What the Bleep - Feelings for Detroit Vol. 6: Water Sound

Rooted in a friendship formed in 2004, foi oi oi and What the Bleep are tag team partners hailing from Ohio. "Ragga jungle" is the most accurate label used to describe what they play – as they are junglists that lean toward reggae-influenced styles – but they truthfully are not bound by any specific genre. Instead, their focus is on a positive bass music experience with undertones of ragga and dubwise. Their mindfulness of a dancefloor’s needs is reflected in their diverse selection of drum & bass, juke, footwork, roots dubstep, dub reggae, dancehall, and more.

As their individual musical tastes matured over the years, their duo performance evolved into something much greater than the sum of the parts. Recently they released another iteration of their widely-popular annual mixtape in honor of their Detroit Electronic Music Festival tradition. Each year they attend the festival, perform at afterparties, and spread their junglist sound as "brothers". This year’s CD release took on a new greatly-refined form, fluidly transitioning through a surprising multiplicity of sound: "Feelings for Detroit Vol. 6: Water Sound". And in July 2012, to open the floodgates for new ears to experience a refreshing bass music experience, they are embarking on a CD-release East Coast mini-tour: "foi oi oi & What the Bleep’s Water Sound Voyage".

Recorded for DEMF (Movement) 2012
Released on Electronic Enlightenment netlabel free of charge
Encoded at 320 kbps
Combined file size of 177.5 MB
1 hour, 17 minutes, 31 seconds
37 tracks

01. DJ Vocoda - Semi-Automatic - Labelless Records (forthcoming)
02. DJ L.A.B. - The Other Side - Paranoid Recordings
03. Bladerunner - Leave Dem Alone - Dread Recordings
04. DJ Nut Nut - Special Dedication (Sigma Remix) - Streetlife
05. Ed Solo & Deekline - Top Rankin - Jungle Cakes
06. Isaac Maya - Ambition - Socsub
07. Freestyle - Don't Stop the Rock (Mike G & Leukos Edit) - Seismic Imports
--- Krome & Time - The License (Phillip D Kick's Footwork Edit) - (unreleased)
08. Chrissy Murderbot - Braaain - Planet Mu
09. Tribe of Issachar - Junglist (foi oi oi Remix) - (unreleased)
10. Shy FX & T-Power - Feelings (Instrumental) - Digital Soundboy
11. Visionary feat. D.Suade & RNR - Change - Digital Soundboy
12. LV feat. Dandelion - CCTV - Hyperdub
13. Mala - In Luv - (unreleased)
14. Skream - Irie - Soul Jazz Records
15. Marcus Visionary - Mabaruma - Liondub International
16. Mosca - Tilt Shift - Fat City
17. MC Zulu & LionDub - Talk Dutty - Perception 2020
18. Busy Signal - Cool Baby (Poirier Remix) - Ninja Tune
19. Vibes & Wishdokta - Sweetest Love (Machinedrum Edit) - (unreleased)
20. Julio Bashmore - The Horn That Time Forgot (foi oi oi Remix) - (unreleased)
21. Zombie Disco Squad - The Dance (Ages Bootleg) - (unreleased)
22. Remarc - R.I.P. (Phillip D Kick's Footwork Jungle Edit) - (unreleased)
23. FIS-T - Night Hunter (Slick Shoota Juke Remix) - B.YRSLF division
24. Goldstar & Zero G - Skin Out - Liondub International
25. Digital - Fool Bwoy - Shee Been Records
26. Bay B Kane - The Original - (unreleased)
27. DJ L.A.B. - Planted By Water - Labelless Records (forthcoming)
28. 45 Thieves & Amnesty - Right Now - Conquest Recordings
29. Dubmatix feat. The Ragga Twins - Gun Down - Echo Beach
30. Dubdelight - What She Wants - StrikeBack Records (forthcoming)
31. Ramadanman - Glut - Hemlock Recordings
32. Chrissy Murderbot feat. MC Zulu - The Vibe Is So Right (Ghosts On Tape Remix) - Planet Mu
33. Athena - Serseri Dub (Flatliners "King Fifi" Rework) - (unreleased)
34. Claude VonStroke - Aundy (James Zabiela's Mad For Marky's Mix Mash-Up) - (unreleased)
35. J Dilla - King (Sinistarr Remix) - (unreleased)
36. DJ Marky & S.P.Y. - Last Night - Innerground Records
37. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs - Garden (Calibre Remix) - Polydor
--- Excerpt from The Great Dictator

Special thanks to: Scottie Mnemonic of Labelless Recordings, Dubdelight, Bay B Kane, Liondub of Liondub International, Victor Paul of Conquest Recordings, Dave "DJ Case", Suki, Apache, Zealot
Coverart by: Lena Alidib

Released by: Electronic Enlightenment
Release date: May 25, 2012


63 timed comments and 8 regular comments

Add a new comment

You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

Share to

If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
    Click to enter a
    comment at