Track artwork

Blog So Hard 2: All Blog Everything (Mixed by DJ Pizzo)

DJ Pizzo on January 04, 2013 12:06

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 7 2487
Comments 4
Favoritings 16
Downloads 315

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 2 Sets

    More tracks by DJ Pizzo

    Danny Brown - "Return To The Dirty D" (Mixed By DJ Pizzo)

    Hellafine Fridays Episode 17

    Hot Damage + Jason Perez - "TwerkYourEnthusiasm"

    Blog So Hard 3: B-Side Wins Again

    Wu-Tang Killa B-Sides 2013 (Mixed by Pizzo)

    View all


    This week's Hellafine Fridays podcast episode is a special edition, acting as volume two of last year's massively popular "Blog So Hard" mix for HipHopSite.Com. "Blog So Hard 2: All Blog Everything" collects our favorite b-side / non-album tracks from 2012. As we were selecting our favorite blog-bangers from the year, we noticed a lot of slowed down beats and soulful production, acting as almost an underground answer to the current "hot club sound", which finds tracks like 2 Chainz's "No Lie" and Trinidad James' "All Gold Everything" clocking in the 50 and 60 BPM ranges.

    The end result is a much bleaker sound to the mix than it's predecessor, but with the economy sluggishly recovering, Hurricane Sandy, and the rash of violent crimes in 2012, it's was kind of a bleak year. There's a story to be told here, as songs like Pusha T's "Exodus 23:1" and Pharoahe Monch's "Damage" indirectly touch upon the gun violence that happens daily in cities like Chicago, while Game's "Murder" and Rick Ross' "100 Black Coffins" deal with the aftermath. Incidentally, among both of this year's massacres in Colorado and Connecticut, for the first time, rap music was not to blame, as this time violent movies and video games were the scapegoat. The intent here was not to make a depressing mix, but perhaps it's a sign of the times.

    But it's not all gloom. There's some DOOM here too. And some Common, AZ, CL Smooth, Beatnuts, Alkaholiks, Cage, Soul Position, De La Soul, Raekwon, O.C., Jean Grae, and other classic hip-hop artists that we don't hear enough from these days. And keeping those cats around is part of what HipHopSite.Com - and this mix - are about. Today's new generation of emcees are also represented here as well, such as Brother Ali, Mac Miller, Joey Bada$$, Action Bronson, J. Cole, Roc Marciano, Statik Selektah, Termanology, and Freddie Gibbs. And Jay-Z helps bring the mix to a close with a light at the end of the tunnel on "Glory", a celebration of the birth of Blue Ivy Carter - who is featured on the song - suggesting a brighter future is in store. Here's to 2013. - DJ Pizzo

    1. "Rap & Bitches" - 1982 (Statik Selektah + Termanology)
    2. "Can You Keep Up" - Busta Rhymes (feat. Twista; prod. Just Blaze)
    3. "Street Knock" - Swizz Beatz (feat. A$AP Rocky; prod. AraabMuzik)
    4. "The Jig Is Up (Dumpin') - Kendrick Lamar (prod. J. Cole)
    5. "Kill Screen" - Jean Grae
    6. "Ask About Me" - C.L. Smooth
    7. "No Sell Out" - Common (prod. No I.D.)
    8. "Doomsayer" - MF Doom (prod. Young Guru)
    9. "Bang" - Liknuts (Alkaholiks + The Beatnuts)
    10. "Of The Soul (Remix)" - Mac Miller (feat. Posdnous of De La Soul & Raekwon)
    11. "Writer's Block" - Brother Ali (prod. Jake One)
    12. "The Good Life" - Soul Position (RJD2 + Blueprint)
    13. "Get Free Cole World" - J. Cole & Major Lazer
    14. "The Void" - Cage (feat. Sherry St. Germain)
    15. "Exodus 23:1" - Pusha T (feat. The-Dream)
    16. "Damage" - Pharoahe Monch
    17. "100 Black Coffins" - Rick Ross
    18. "Murder" - Game (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Scarface)
    19. "Enter The Void" - Joey Bada$$ (feat. Ab-Soul)
    20. "My Nigga" - AZ (prod. Buckwild)
    21. "Stop Me" - Roc Marciano (prod. Just Blaze)
    22. "Shame" - Madgibbs (Madlib + Roc Marciano) (feat. BJ The Chicago Kid)
    23. "Glory" - Jay-Z (feat. Blue Ivy Carter)*
    24. "The Biggest Loser" - Apollo Brown & O.C.
    25. "Hot Shots Part Deux" - Action Bronson + Riff Raff + Dana Coppafeel

    *Blue Ivy murdered that shit.


    4 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at