Track artwork

Raoul Björkenheim / eCsTaSy, "El Pueblo Unido" from 'eCsTaSy' (Cuneiform Records)

Cuneiform Records on December 30, 2013 19:43

0.00 / 5.46
Hide the comments

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 1 1718
Favoritings 16

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 2 Sets

    More tracks by Cuneiform Records

    The Microscopic Septet, "Bya-Ya" from 'Friday the 13th: The Micros Play Monk' (Cuneiform Records)

    Happy Family, "Slide" from 'Minimal Gods' (out September 30 on Cuneiform Records)

    Richard Pinhas & Oren Ambarchi, "Washington, D.C. - T4V1" [excerpt] from 'Tikkun' (Cuneiform)

    Richard Pinhas & Yoshida Tatsuya, "Part One - Intro" from 'Welcome In The Void' (Cuneiform Records)

    Mats/Morgan, "Rubber Sky" from '[schack tati]' (out now on Cuneiform Records)

    View all

    "Björkenheim has been well regarded since his 1980s work...but his recent releases have been particularly memorable."
    – Stereophile

    Guitarist and composer Raoul Björkenheim emerged from Finland in the 80s with Edward Vesala's band, then started his own group, Krakatau, who recorded for ECM and Cuneiform.

    He is probably best known for his work with Scorch Trio and with Bill Laswell and Morgan Agren in Blixt, but he has been a busy, active player for the last 30 years.

    Ecstasy is his new electric, ecstatic jazz band, which features some of the younger talents on the Finnish jazz scene and which was designed to be an ensemble that will regularly go out and tour. The group consists of Raoul, Pauli Lyytinen (saxophones), Jori Huhtala (contrabass) and Markku Ounaskari (drums) in a repertory of original compositions painting swirling polyrhythms with a free-tonal palette.
    With influences ranging from Korean and African music to contemporary chamber music, new jazz and free rock, Ecstasy's mission is to elevate its audiences with their high energy and dedication to adventurous sound.

    "The band name Ecstasy refers to a music that is so fluid and intelligible that it flows around and past obstacles, and attains the listener by surprise and joy. The listener finds himself outside of his self, transported. I firmly believe that music does have a mission to elevate the spirit, to remind the listener about the ecstasy of being alive. I'd love our band to play so much together that we'd be able to communicate on a high level of ESP, and make our group interplay truly virtuosic in the positive meaning of that word. Then we could communicate to any audience, regardless of whether "jazz", "rock" or "contemporary".
    -Raoul Björkenheim

    Ecstasy brings together new and established names from the Finnish scene into a compact powerhouse of an ensemble.

    eCsTaSy is
    Raoul Björkenheim: electric guitar
    Pauli Lyytinen: saxophones & kalimba
    Jori Huhtala: contrabass
    Markku Ounaskari: drums

    Released by: Cuneiform Records
    Release/catalogue number: Rune 373
    Release date: Jan 21, 2014

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at