Track artwork

Terranova – Question Mark feat. Thomas Hoffding (Adam Port Remix)

cocoonrecordings on October 23, 2012 08:51

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 3 9671
Comments 9
Favoritings 54

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 7 Sets

    View all

    More tracks by cocoonrecordings






    View all

    There will always be a bass drum making people dance, but it will rarely sound the same. Techno and House are in continuous flux. There will always be people celebrating. And each year new kids join the scene, hungry for pleasure, for beauty, for ecstasy – for life. Over the last few years, Ibiza has established itself as one of the centres of advanced electronic music. A key figure in Ibiza's electronic awakening is Sven Väth. He and the Mediterranean island have come a long way. As a youth, he experienced the flamboyant nightlife on the island, having been introduced to dimensions of pleasure that were not imaginable in his hometown of Frankfurt. In 1999, Väth decided to return some of the energy and inspiration he had received from the rocky island with the unique atmosphere. Focusing on quality music, Väth established a new type of party experience by summoning a tribe of passionate musicians and activists, and in 2012, Cocoon's Ibiza adventure was created for the 13th time. Being the master of ceremony, Väth invites a unique mix of long-time companions and upcoming talent. As a DJ, he is scanning through the unmanageable amount of new music with somnambulistic security, having excavated aural treasures and shaping the ideal environment to release their full potential.

    The 13th Season opens with Thomas Hoffding's auspicious voice, subtly arranged by Terranova and reworked by Adam Port. Young producer wAFF's grooves are more stable and demanding, the erotic female vocal luring us even deeper into the Cocoon, establishing the emotional density of classic New York House. Nobody manages to unleash the forces of the bass so wholeheartedly like Berlin's WK7, pushing the set into a more technoid direction. The turmoil that will take place on the dancefloor is anticipated by Margot's meandering acid track. The Tuff City Kids are pushing even further with striking, demanding chords. Octave One's unique, soulful grooves highlight the unrestrained force of the synthesizers. Ben Sims' slick groove is subduing the excitement, with enigmatic bleeps hovering over the dancefloor like an acoustic sculpture. Sam Paganini is moving even further in this direction, startling the dancers with sound from another galaxy. The obvious thing to do is now to push the crowd over the edge with a huge breakdown. But this is not what Väth does. By merging tracks from Sawlin, P.A.S. and Exercise One, he composes a powerful sequence: highly climactic and absolutely collected at the same time, it reaches beyond the vocabulary of peak time Techno. Dissolving into a tribal groove by Silent Servant and poetic sounds of Ray Kajioka, the first set is coming to its end.

    The second CD starts off at an entirely different note. A sweet House sound is established by Makam. It's innocent, yet full of suggestion. The crowd is captured by the allure and grace of Dixon's edit of Romanthony's classical anthem, “The Wanderer”, and with &ME's vexing alien sounds, the ideal counterpoint is created. Julien Bracht is challenging the dancers with broken beats and seducing them with a longing vocal at the same time. The simplicity of Alejandro Mosso's mesmerizing melody finally disarms the crowd. Lawrence's intangible electronic sounds are pouring down on the dancers like rain in the midst of summer. Romanian Cocoon Hero Rhadoo is applying the brakes to the dancefloor's movement and controversially creates an irresistible motion. Unlike very few artists, Frankfurt's Roman Flügel manages to challenge the language of dance music. He merges the history and the future of House music in the most humorous way possible. Moving away from that playful sound, British electronic music maverick Four Tet strikes a rather demanding note. The heavy, bassy chords of Four Tet's turn into Uner's multi-layered diaphanous House sound, bursting with sun and light. Gathaspar is unifying the diverging energies with a pervasive soundscape. And Soy Mustafa and John Tejada have the final word: the dancefloor is taken away by their otherworldly serenity. In the end, the music is only a part of the adventure. Sven Väth creates a unique relationship with his crowd, leading us through experience like no one else.

    Released by: Cocoon Recordings
    Release/catalogue number: CORMIX042
    Release date: Nov 12, 2012


    7 timed comments and 2 regular comments

    • Eddi Köhler
    • Francois Brésez & ElMarco
    • neo811
    • Thales Galvao
      Thales Galvao on October 31, 2012 01:06

      Here i'm to share my setlist biweakly containing the best and newest musics of the eletronic sceane, that reaching its 13th edition

      This is a fine selection made by me and mixed by Rafael Marins

      Fell free to share and download

      Thales Galvao

      The Playlist of this week is:

      1 - Bomb Intro v6
      2 - Armin Van Buuren - I'll Listen feat. Ana Criado (Disfunktion Remix)
      3 - Clmd - Black Eyes & Blue (Extended Version)
      4 - David Guetta Feat. Taped Rai - Just One Last Time (Fareoh Remix)
      5 - Discopolis - Committed To Sparkle Motion (DubVision Remix)
      6 - Ellie Goulding - Anything Could Happen (Henry Fong Remix)
      7 - Discopolis - Committed To Sparkle Motion (DubVision Remix)
      8 - Fun. & Jakob Liedholm vs Nari & Milani & Maurizio Gubellini & Delayers - Some Atoms (Mathias Era Rework Mashup)
      9 - Icona Pop - Ready For The Weekend (Club Mix)
      10 - M-3ox feat. Heidrun - Beating Of My Heart (Matisse & Sadko Remix) w The Temper Trap - Sweet Disposition
      11 - Meital feat. Sean Kingston - On Ya (R3hab Remix)
      12 - Nicky Romero & Calvin Harris - Iron (Dyro Remix)
      13 - Project 46 & Calvin Harris - Hasselhoff Flashback (Eric Mendosa & Dj Grun Mashup)
      14 - Swedish House Mafia - Don't You Worry Child (Promise Land Remix)
      15 - Steerner - Friends (Original Mix)
      16 - The Aston Shuffle vs. Tommy Trash - Sunrise (Wont Get Lost) (Tommy Trash Version)
      17 - Pryda - Everyday (Original Mix)

      Thanks to all of you that listen to our podcast. We're happy in trying to bring you a fine selection of electronic music almost every week.

      You can find the full pack with all single tracks in this link

      If the copyright of any mix or music belongs to you, and if you have problem with this free promotion: contact me and I'll remove it!

      Contact-me for older volumes

      Enjoy !

    • PakoSmile
      PakoSmile at 0.00 on October 30, 2012 17:44

      great track..good energy to it ;)

    • *DSB* Productions
    • edlington
    • SQΛW
    • Dj Insound.

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at