Track artwork

Black Sun Empire feat Foreign Beggars - Dawn of a Dark Day (Prolix Remix) - Clip

blacksunempire on March 13, 2013 13:27

Stats for this track

This Week Total
Plays 8 19777
Comments 28
Favoritings 1 267

Uploaded by

  • Report copyright infringement

    In 43 Sets

    View all

    In 41 Groups

    View all

    More tracks by blacksunempire

    Optiv, BTK & Black Sun Empire - Heart Shaped [Virus Recordings]

    BSE Podcast 029

    BLCKTNL006: State of Mind - Response Signal - OUT NOW

    BLCKTNL006: State of Mind - No-Operative - OUT NOW

    Black Sun Empire & Noisia - Hideous (Doctrine Remix)

    View all

    Black Sun Empire feat Foreign Beggars - Dawn of a Dark Day (Prolix Remix)
    Worldwide release date: March 25th 2013 (Exclusive to Beatport for two weeks)
    OUT NOW:

    With support from a stunning cross section of industry players – Chase & Status, Pendulum, Friction, Camo & Krooked, Loadstar, Rockwell, High Rankin, Feed Me – and a position in the top five best-selling albums of 2012 on Beatport, Black Sun Empire’s ‘From The Shadows’ LP was one of the Dutch trio’s biggest accomplishments in their fifteen year, five album history. To celebrate? They’re serving up this disgustingly massive remix compendium.

    Featuring some of the most exciting talents in drum & bass, each of the six remixes here offer a sizzling new slant on three of the album’s biggest tracks. All armed with their own character and uncompromising dynamics, it’s a challenge deciding which one to drop first…

    ‘All Is Lost’ starts the set with the perfect balance of emotional sonic star-gazing and gritty bottom-end welly. With stunning hymn-like vocals from Thomas Oliver and hype-hungry attitude from Youthstar, it’s widely regarded as one of the album’s boldest highlights. Naturally both Memtrix and Telekinesis have stepped up to the massive challenge.

    Lifted fave Memtrix goes first. Opening with teases of the original’s euphoric synths, he lets the vocals breath for one second before BANG: utter bassline sickness takes over. Complete sonic bombardment of the senses, there is no mistaking Memtrix’s direction and focus for this prime-time piece of D&B naughtiness. And there’s no mistaking the raw power of Telekinesis’s remix, either… Igniting with piano-primed ‘lighters up’ intro, we’re soon pushed into the deepest end of the darkness pool with Youthstar’s spitfire delivery, a gut-busting halfstep groove and a murder of distorted bass tones. Flipping to full D&B tempo midway, it’s a strident party piece that will stay in your wallet or playlist from now until the 23rd century.

    Next up, ‘Dawn Of A Dark Day’: A blazing unity of UK grime and Euro neuro, the day Black Sun Empire called up the Foreign Beggars for mic-duties was a game-changing day for the entire bass industry. Naturally both remixes pay respect to the fusion and fire of the original. Prolix takes the original’s swaggering halfstep intro and adds a touch more menace on the low-end and an industrial punch to the beats before dropping into a rampant, rolling speaker-smasher. No face will be left unmelted when you drop this. We guarantee it. Meanwhile Receptor adds his own interpretation with an instant uptempo kickstart and the creative use of drama-drenched cinematic strings and devilish Slayer-level guitars.

    ‘Killing The Light’ brings us to a fitting climax with two of drum & bass most distinctive, forward-thinking acts on remix duties. Delicately dressed with the heart-melting vocals of Inne Eysermans, the raw emotion makes ‘Killing The Light’ the closest thing to a ballad Black Sun Empire will ever write. Paying respect to this, Icicle sharpens the kicks and snares, weaves haunting pads into the mix and takes the vocal to the darkest place imaginable. For those looking for more of a laser-snapping edge, look no further than June Miller’s remix; bolstered with a gargantuan bassline and searing sonic flares, the Dutch-Anglo duo have taken the softness and depth of the original and subverted into a priceless peaktime banger that NO D&B DJ should be without this season.

    Released by: Black Sun Empire Recordings
    Release/catalogue number: BSELP006RMX
    Release date: Mar 25, 2013


    28 timed comments and 0 regular comments

    Add a new comment

    You need to be logged in to post a comment. If you're already a member, please or sign up for a free account.

    Share to

    If you are using self-hosted WordPress, please use our standard embed code or install the plugin to use shortcodes.
    Add a comment 0 comments at 0.00
      Click to enter a
      comment at